Artist Spotlight : Claire Watt

Ready for another fun interview?! Today we get to learn more about Claire Watt aka @wattdoodle. Thank you for for being our Artist spotlight of the week Claire.


Hello! Please can you give us a brief little introduction about yourself?

Hi, my name is Claire and I am a 36 year old hobby doodler, living in a small town called Linlithgow, Scotland!  I have always loved and enjoyed art but I hadn’t picked up a paint brush or sketched much since I was in school.  During lockdown I started to have fun with art again, drawing with my daughter as well as painting rocks for us to hide around our home town, to keep local kids excited and motivated to get out and walk, while the schools were closed.   This got me excited to rediscover art again and for Christmas 2020 my husband bought me an iPad, Apple Pencil and Procreate and I haven’t looked back!


What inspires you?

I get really inspired by lots of different accounts on Instagram!  This community has been invaluable to me as I have started to find what I like and what I enjoy drawing.  I am also inspired by nature and anything that feels a bit whimsical and magical!


What is your favourite thing to draw?

I love drawing fluffy animals and magical creatures!  Anything set in a forest or nature scenes with lots of trees, flowers and light.  I like to add a touch of whimsy to all my drawings.


What art goals do you have for this year?

This is my first year drawing and for me I wanted to create a habit, something I could turn too, to relax and unwind at the end of the day and when the work laptop has closed.  My goal was to draw something everyday and so far this year I have stuck to this!  It might be as simple as a quick doodle on a sketch pad or I will create something on Procreate.  I try to share my work on Instagram as it keeps me to this habit and so far I love it.


What techniques/supplies do you use?

My main go to is my iPad and Apple Pencil that my husband got me for Christmas last year (iPad Pro 12.9 and Apple Pencil 2nd Gen).  My main go to for digital drawing is Procreate and I’m learning something everyday with it.  Some of my favourite brushes are from Bardot Brush @bardotbrush, Jenny Bardak @jennybardak and Devin Elle Kurtz @devinellekurtz.   If I am doodling at home with my daughter we use any art supplies we have to hand, but when we paint together we use acrylic paints (DR system 3) or acrylic paint pens (any by Artistro) for painting rocks, which we still do regularly.


What advice would you give to another doodler/artist?

 I would say if drawing/doodling gives you joy then get stuck in!  When I started drawing at the beginning of the year I didn’t know what I was doing and started to worry about finding “my style” or if my drawings were any good.  I soon forgot all that, because no matter what, I was enjoying it and I was having fun, so I would encourage any fellow doodler to focus on that.  For me that is what is important!  If you don’t know where to start, especially with digital drawing and Procreate there are some fantastic YouTube videos and tutorials so as long and you are enjoying the process - GO FOR IT!


Where can people go to learn more about you or see more of your work?
My Instagram account is my main outlet for art so people can find me at @wattdoodle 🙂

In the beginning of 2021, four creative minds ( @Jen_Jemieson, @SandraLynnEide, @creativebrenda, and @yaomacha ) wanted to boost their sketchbooks and character design skills. We Read more
Hello! I am an artist who loves creating abstract landscapes as well as illustrated paintings. I studied Illustration and Art Education in College. The last Read more
Hi, my name is Julia. I’m originally from Germany but I’ve lived in the UK for over six years. I’m a researcher at a university Read more
Hello! My name is Emily and I live in the PNW in Vancouver, WA which is just north of Portland. I’m a wife and a Read more
Hi! My names Lucie, I’m an aspiring children’s book illustrator from a small town called Bognor Regis, a stones throw from Brighton for those of Read more
I’m a children's book illustrator from the North of Scotland. I was born in 1985 in West Yorkshire. I moved to Scotland in 2006 where Read more
My name is Iris van Wijnen, a Dutchie currently living in Bayern, Germany. I work as an international opera singer, am a yoga teacher as Read more
My name is Lindsay and I live in Washington State, USA with my husband and daughterand our furry feline overlords. I was an artsy kid Read more
Hi my name is Alex, I am originally from Hertfordshire but have very recently moved to sunny Suffolk with my husband, youngest son and a Read more
Hello I'm Jen 😊! I'm married with two gorgeous children (and two gorgeous dogs). I work part time heading up the children's work for a Read more