Artist Spotlight: Iris van Wijnen

Every we week we get the chance to highlight one of our amazing doodlers! Today we are sharing more about Iris Van Wijnen aka @by.iris.illustrations.


Hello! Please can you give us a brief little introduction?

My name is Iris van Wijnen, a Dutchie currently living in Bayern, Germany. I work as an international opera singer, am a yoga teacher as well as a reiki therapist and illustrate for the pure joy of it. I have been drawing and painting all of my life and I can’t imagine NOT doing it. The career of an opera singer can be pretty tough and stressful so drawing and painting is my way to let my fantasy just run wild and forget the rest.  


 


What inspires you?

Music. There is so much beautiful music to be found in all genres!!  Nature. The change of seasons is always so beautiful and I enjoy it every time. Four times a year. I am the happiest when I am in the mountains, so I go there as often as I can.  Also reading. I am always reading. Most of the time more than one book parallel to each other and I love it when you come across a sentence that you just have to read at least twice to let it fully touch you. 


What is your favourite thing to draw?

Whatever gives me a good feeling really. I do tend to draw a lot of girl characters, but it’s not like I only like drawing them. Now that I think about it, my art really can be all over the place, in a good way. 🙂 As long as it makes me and the people who see it happy.  I also draw portraits of people who send me their favourite photos. I love getting a little peek into their special moment and turning this photo into a work of art that can then get a special place in their homes. 


What art goals do you have for this year?

Maybe not for this year, maybe it will take longer, but my biggest dream is to illustrate a children’s book at some point. So, having said that, now it has to happen! 😉 


What techniques/supplies do you use?

I use procreate on my iPad pro. I have a few different sets of brushes I like to use. Most of them are actually looking a lot like ‘manual’ tools. Even though drawn digitally, I still like my work to feel like paper and pencil somehow.  I also use Caran D’Ache aquarelle pencils, Tombow water based pens and Farber-Castell inking pens on paper. Usually I end up using all of these. I like working in layers!  I also just like playing around in my sketchbook, seeing whatever wants to appear on the paper. 


What advice would you give to another doodler/artist?

Find the happiness in the doing. The result is really not so important at all. And the fun bit is, the happier you are drawing or painting, the better the result usually gets. When the feeling is right, the people who look at your work, will feel it too.  Also: don’t be afraid to start all over again. 



Where can people go to learn more about you or see more of your work?

Instagram: @by.iris.illustrations Website: www.irisillustrations.com Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/irisvanwijnenillustrations/

Hi! I'm Maeve and I'm from Belfast, Northern Ireland but currently live in Surrey, England where I am Head of Art at a secondary school. Read more
Hi! My names Lucie, I’m an aspiring children’s book illustrator from a small town called Bognor Regis, a stones throw from Brighton for those of Read more
I’m a children's book illustrator from the North of Scotland. I was born in 1985 in West Yorkshire. I moved to Scotland in 2006 where Read more
My name is Lindsay and I live in Washington State, USA with my husband and daughterand our furry feline overlords. I was an artsy kid Read more
Hi my name is Alex, I am originally from Hertfordshire but have very recently moved to sunny Suffolk with my husband, youngest son and a Read more
Hello I'm Jen 😊! I'm married with two gorgeous children (and two gorgeous dogs). I work part time heading up the children's work for a Read more
My name's Magda. I live near Poznań, Poland with my family-husband, son, daughter and our ragdoll cat, Zizik (Zeezeeck). I've started drawing again in 2018, Read more
Hi! My name is Emma and I live in Scotland, where it rains an awful lot! I am an English and Drama teacher but during Read more
My name is Amy Glatiotis. I live in beautiful Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada. I'm married to my sweet hubby, Galen and have an 11 year Read more
Hi, my name is Claire and I am a 36 year old hobby doodler, living in a small town called Linlithgow, Scotland! I have always Read more
My name is Yulia Yudina, I live in Moscow (Russia), I'm married and have two wonderful kids (9 and 6 years old). I'm an economist Read more