Artist Spotlight: Magda Kalina

Every week we highlight one of our amazing doodlers! Today we have the pleasure of sharing more about Magda Kalina aka @magdakalina.illustration


Please can you give us a brief little introduction about yourself?

My name's Magda. I live near Poznań, Poland with my family-husband, son, daughter and our ragdoll cat, Zizik (Zeezeeck). I've started drawing again in 2018, after a long, long break. I've got my iPad last year and since then have done illustrations to a couple of books, some logos and a comic strip. I'm a little bit of eco-freak, Non-violent communication enthusiast and a former teacher wanting to be an illustrator.


What inspires you?

I'm mostly inspired by nature and i just love creating drawings based on Friday Doodle Club's prompts! 


What is your favourite thing to draw?

Animals, nature and food 🙂


What art goals do you have for this year?

I want to finish doing illustrations to my book about Little Red Riding Hood, a Wolf and a vegan steak. My another goal is to become a tattoo artist and take up some courses to be a children's book illustrator.


What techniques/supplies do you use?

I used to paint with watercolor but now i use my iPad and Procreate only. My fave brushes are Studio Pen and Dry Ink.


What advice would you give to another doodler/artist?

Try to find at least 20-30 minutes a day to draw or learn something new, write down all your ideas, don't be too hard on yourself and try to avoid comparing to other artists.


Where can people go to learn more about you or see more of your work?

You can find me here: https://linktr.ee/kaljah5.01


In the beginning of 2021, four creative minds ( @Jen_Jemieson, @SandraLynnEide, @creativebrenda, and @yaomacha ) wanted to boost their sketchbooks and character design skills. We Read more
Hello! I am an artist who loves creating abstract landscapes as well as illustrated paintings. I studied Illustration and Art Education in College. The last Read more
Hi, my name is Julia. I’m originally from Germany but I’ve lived in the UK for over six years. I’m a researcher at a university Read more
Hello! My name is Emily and I live in the PNW in Vancouver, WA which is just north of Portland. I’m a wife and a Read more
Hi! My names Lucie, I’m an aspiring children’s book illustrator from a small town called Bognor Regis, a stones throw from Brighton for those of Read more
I’m a children's book illustrator from the North of Scotland. I was born in 1985 in West Yorkshire. I moved to Scotland in 2006 where Read more
My name is Iris van Wijnen, a Dutchie currently living in Bayern, Germany. I work as an international opera singer, am a yoga teacher as Read more
My name is Lindsay and I live in Washington State, USA with my husband and daughterand our furry feline overlords. I was an artsy kid Read more
Hi my name is Alex, I am originally from Hertfordshire but have very recently moved to sunny Suffolk with my husband, youngest son and a Read more
Hello I'm Jen 😊! I'm married with two gorgeous children (and two gorgeous dogs). I work part time heading up the children's work for a Read more