Artist Spotlight: Sarah Wade

This week we got to interview the very talented Sarah Wade aka @sarahwadeillustration as our artist spotlight of the week.


Please can you give us a brief little introduction about yourself?

Hi I am Sarah, an illustrator and designer working from home in Suffolk UK. I live with my two daughters, husband, cat called Mouse…and currently a family of foxes that live under the garden studio. I come from a greetings background having worked in-house for UK Greetings and International Greetings designing products like cards, gift wrap and social stationery for client including WhSmith, John Lewis, Boots, Clintons, Sainsbury's and House of Fraser. 


In 2007, after a four-month artist's residency in Northern Italy, hand painting ceramics and Venetian masks, I decided to turn freelance. Since then, I have been commissioned for a variety of products including children's books, textiles, wallpaper, ceramics and jewellery. During my early freelancing years I also took a PGCE teaching qualification and have taught a little at degree level as well as leading some other art based workshops. 



What inspires you?

My children are my main source of inspiration, mainly funny thing they say and their great imagination - only yesterday my 4 year old said “Look mummy it’s an octopus standing on it’s head” pointing to a leafless tree with swirling branches. My husband is an art teacher and practicing fine artist, so I think we inspire each other, I always appreciate his feedback on my work - it’s like having my own personal art director. 


What is your favourite thing to draw?

I love to draw children in magical scenes, quirky animal characters and nature. I really enjoying experimenting with colour palettes too and different styles. 


What art goals do you have for this year?
 

I would like to develop my picture book portfolio further, the majority of my previous work has been vector based, but since discovering Procreate I have been enjoying working in a more painterly style.


What techniques/supplies do you use?

Adobe Illustrator, Photoshop, Procreate and Pentel P205 0.5


What advice would you give to another doodler/artist?

I think my main advice would be to make time to create self initiated work, so that it isn’t all client directed. I find the prompts from Friday Doodle Club and Becka Moor’s #drawmoor challenge are great starting points - but also act as a weekly reminder! 


Also, finding other artists that inspire you. I follow quite a few drawing accounts on Instagram, one of my favourites is the Etherington Brothers, it has lot of great tutorials on character development. I have also recently discovered a fine artist called Cat Croxford - I love the way Cat uses light and colour in her work. 


Where can people go to learn more about you or see more of your work?

www.sarahwadeillustration.co.uk  

IG @sarahwadeillustration

Etsy: www.sarahwadestore.etsy.com






Hi! I'm Maeve and I'm from Belfast, Northern Ireland but currently live in Surrey, England where I am Head of Art at a secondary school. Read more
 • Hello! Please can you give us a brief little introduction? Hi all, my name is Marieke van Rossum. I’m from the Netherlands but since Read more
I’m Francesca and I live with my little family near beautiful Cannock Chase in Staffordshire where I write and illustrate picture books. When I’m not Read more
Hello everyone! I’m Pauline. I’m a French artist, mother of two little dragons, living in the UK. Former nurse, I finally decided to follow my Read more
I am an artist and illustrator from India, living in Bahrain with my husband and two kids who are my inspiration, constant critiques and cheerleaders. Read more
My name is Emma Wiklund, but you can call me Emma. I was born and still live in the northern part of Sweden, with my Read more
I am an artist, author, illustrator and yoga teacher living outside of Boston with my family. I am also a mama of two awesome teenage Read more
Hello, I’m Becky. I was born in Puerto Rico but I grew up in sunny Orlando, Florida. I have always loved art & drawing, however, Read more
Hello! I’m Valerie and I live in Northern California with my husband, daughter, a super-energetic dog, and a not-so-energetic bearded dragon. I’ve been drawing for Read more
Hi! I’m Macha (short for Marie-Charlotte) and I’m a french illustrator and graphic designer living in Leeds, UK right now with my husband and our Read more
Hi there, Friday doodlers! I’m Helen. I grew up in New York City. I’ve traveled to many countries, have visited most American states, and have Read more